What are sustainable development goals (SDG’s)?

At the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit on 25 September 2015, world leaders adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which includes a set of 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to end poverty, fight inequality and injustice, and tackle climate change by 2030.

  • End poverty in all its forms everywhere
  • End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture
  • Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages
  • Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all
  • Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls
  • Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all
  • Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all
  • Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all
  • Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation
  • Reduce inequality within and among countries
  • Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable
  • Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns
  • Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts*
  • Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development
  • Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss
  • Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels
  • Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development


What are the Millenium Development Goals (MDG’s)?

The United Nations and UN Women are making great strides in fulfilling the Millenium Development Goals (MSG’s) set out for the year 2015. A lot of progress has been made in different parts of the world to eradicate poverty, HIV/AIDS, violence against women and promotion of economic security of men and women.

At the Millennium Summit in September 2000, 189 nations agreed on a vision for the future in the United Nations Millennium Declaration.

The international community subsequently adopted the Millennium Development Goals (MDG’s), representing a common set of basic development goals in eight areas.

  • Eradicating extreme hunger and poverty
  • Achieving universal primary education
  • Promoting gender equality and empowering women
  • Reducing child mortality
  • Improving maternal health
  • Combating HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  • Ensuring environmental sustainability
  • Developing a global partnership for development